Building a NFT marketplace (Typescript +Next JS + Tailwind CSS)

Photo by Ilya Pavlov on Unsplash

Building a NFT marketplace (Typescript +Next JS + Tailwind CSS)

Warning: I don’t want to waste your time here, nothing is very important. It’s just a few of my thoughts on what I’m using to build a NFT marketplace theme. For a long time I really wanted to build something with Next JS. But I didn't really get the time or patience to build it. First I thought I would build an ecommerce website and Shopify API with it. As WEB 3.0 and NFT’s is taking over the internet I thought why not build a NFT marketplace. Design mainly taken from opensea. I’m using Typescript instead of using JavaScript. And for styling I’m using Tailwind CSS.

Typescript

TypeScript is a superset of the JavaScript language that has a single open-source compiler and is developed mainly by a single vendor: Microsoft. The goal of TypeScript is to help catch mistakes early through a type system and to make JavaScript development more efficient. Actually, speaking truth I have never used JavaScript that much. After reading some articles and watching YouTube videos it was clear to me Typescript is a better option.

React JS

React is best for building complex UI. Where every single day there is development of JavaScript framework or library, React is by far the most used JavaScript library/framework to build UI. React component principle is great to write clean code and maintain your code base.

Next JS 12

Next JS is a JavaScript framework built on the top of React which is really great to build a complete website. React is mostly used to build Single page applications(SPA) which are not that great for SEO. In the next js you have an option for server side rendering(SSR) or Static Generation (SSG) which is great for SEO. Also it’s much easier to build websites like this with Next Js as it has many things like routing, image processing built in.

Tailwind CSS 3

Tailwind CSS basically is a CSS framework. It is based on utility principles. You need to add some class names in your html tags for styling. Tailwind really makes life really easy. It’s really easy to make responsive designs with it. Tailwind prioritizes mobile first designing. Where you first write code for a mobile screen.